Anyone searching for a fresh start from overwhelming debt has likely run across First Advantage Debt Relief. The promise of settling debts for pennies on the dollar is a powerful lure, but the reality of how this company operates — and whether it delivers — is far more complicated. This review digs into the fine print, regulatory standing, and real user experiences to help you separate marketing from fact.

Average debt relief fee: 15–25% of enrolled debt · Typical program duration: 24–48 months · Initial credit score drop: 100–150 points · Average debt reduction after fees: 30–50% of original debt · Percentage of clients who complete programs: ~40% (industry average)

Quick snapshot

1Legitimacy
  • BBB profile exists but no rating (Finder)
  • No Trustpilot reviews located for the company (Finder)
  • No major regulatory actions found (unverified) (Finder)
2Costs
3Customer Satisfaction
4Credit Impact
  • Initial 100–150 point drop (NFCC)
  • Recovery to 600+ in 12–24 months (NFCC)
  • Derogatory marks stay 7 years (NFCC)

One look at the fine print reveals a few essential details about how First Advantage structures its programs.

Detail Value
Company type Debt settlement firm / lead-generation service
Typical fee 15–25% of enrolled debt
Program duration 24–48 months
BBB accreditation No (not listed as accredited)
Client account FDIC-insured (claimed)
Average debt reduction after fees 30–50% of original balance

The implication: without a published fee schedule or a fully verifiable BBB profile, the baseline details rely heavily on industry averages and the company’s own marketing materials.

Is it worth it to use a debt relief program?

The trade-off

Debt relief programs can slash what you owe, but the credit damage and high fees often make it a steeper climb than marketing suggests. Consumers who fail to complete the program — roughly 60% industry-wide — end up with a bigger hole than where they started (NFCC).

Cost-benefit analysis of debt relief

  • Programs typically charge 15–25% of the total enrolled debt in fees. (Debt.org)
  • After fees, the average completed program reduces debt by 30–50% of the original balance.
  • Interest and late fees continue to accrue until a settlement is reached, which can increase the total owed if negotiations drag on. (NFCC)

Impact on credit and savings timeline

  • Credit scores typically drop 100–150 points during the first 3–6 months of missed payments. (The Credit People)
  • Settled accounts are reported as “settled” or “charged-off,” which causes a 20–100 point drop depending on the scoring model. (The Credit People)
  • Savings from settlement typically appear 12–24 months into the program.

When debt relief makes sense vs. other options

  • Debt settlement is generally a last resort for those already in default or facing bankruptcy. (NFCC)
  • Non-profit credit counseling and debt management plans (DMPs) offer lower risk and less credit damage for consumers who can still make partial payments.
  • Debt consolidation loans are a better fit for those with good credit who can qualify for a low interest rate.
Bottom line: A debt relief program is a high-risk, high-reward tool. For those already in distress it can provide a path out, but the fees and credit impact mean it should be weighed carefully against DMPs and bankruptcy.

The pattern here is that the choice requires a clear-eyed assessment of one’s own ability to withstand credit damage and program fees.

Is First Advantage debt relief real?

Company background and services

  • First Advantage is a registered for-profit debt settlement company. (GetOutOfDebt.org)
  • According to Finder (personal finance comparison platform), the company primarily operates as a **lead-generation service** that collects consumer information and passes it to other debt relief and financial providers.
  • It is distinct from First Advantage Corporation, the background check company.

Regulatory standing and accreditation

  • Finder reports that as of January 12, 2026, First Advantage is **not BBB accredited** and its BBB rating is listed as **N/A**, with no customer reviews on their profiled listing. (Finder)
  • A separate review site, CPI Inflation Calculator, claims the company has an **A rating**, though this specific profile could not be independently verified on the BBB website at the time of writing (tier3 source).
  • The Credit People (credit education resource) states that First Advantage is a legitimate, licensed debt-relief company whose registration can be verified through state regulators.

Real user reviews and complaints

  • Finder found **no Trustpilot reviews** specifically tied to First Advantage Debt Relief at the time of their review.
  • Ascend (YouTube) reported that they could not locate any genuine online reviews tied to the actual First Advantage entity, suggesting some reviews may be for similarly named companies. (Ascend)
  • The Credit People notes that existing reviews are mixed: some clients praise clear communication and personalized plans, while others complain about unclear fees and settlements that never materialized. (The Credit People)
Bottom line: First Advantage is a real, registered company, but it appears to function more as a lead-generation funnel than a direct debt settlement service. The lack of a standard BBB profile and verifiable customer reviews is abnormal for an established provider in this space.

The implication: consumers should approach with heightened scrutiny compared to firms with transparent track records.

What are the cons of using First Advantage?

What to watch

The lead-generation business model creates a fundamental misalignment: First Advantage gets paid for passing your information downstream, which means the company that actually handles your settlement may not be the one you vetted. (Finder)

High fees and lack of guarantees

  • Fees reportedly range from 20–25% of enrolled debt, which is on the higher end of the industry standard. (CPI Inflation Calculator)
  • The company does not publish a clear, itemized fee schedule, making it hard for consumers to compare costs upfront.
  • There is never a guarantee that creditors will accept settlement offers, meaning you could pay fees with no debt reduction. (NFCC)

Customer service and transparency issues

  • BBB complaint records show patterns of delayed responses and unclear fee structures. (The Credit People)
  • Some consumers report difficulty when trying to withdraw from the program. (The Credit People)
  • According to Ascend, the company’s marketing appears to misrepresent what it does, presenting itself as a grant provider rather than a lead-generation site. (Ascend)

Potential for credit damage and limited success rate

  • Missed payments during enrollment will damage credit further. The initial drop is typically 100–150 points. (The Credit People)
  • Settled debts stay on your credit report for **seven years** from the date of first delinquency. (NFCC)
  • The industry average program completion rate is only about 40%, meaning most clients do not see the full benefit. (NFCC)
Bottom line: First Advantage carries the standard risks of debt settlement — high fees, credit damage, and no guarantees — with the added layer of opacity around its lead-generation model. The lack of transparent pricing and verifiable success metrics makes it a riskier bet than more established competitors.

The catch is that these drawbacks compound when the company is not directly handling the settlements.

What is First Advantage?

Company overview and founding

  • First Advantage Debt Relief is a for-profit company registered as a debt settlement firm. (GetOutOfDebt.org)
  • Its online presence is described as “bare bones” by Finder, who notes the site misrepresents what the company actually does. (Finder)
  • The company is not affiliated with First Advantage Corporation (the background check firm).

Services offered: debt settlement vs. consolidation vs. credit counseling

  • First Advantage offers debt settlement, where a third party negotiates with your creditors to accept a lump sum less than the total owed.
  • This is distinct from **debt consolidation**, which rolls multiple debts into a single loan, and **credit counseling**, which focuses on education and debt management plans (DMPs). (NFCC)
  • Because it is a lead-generator, the actual settlement work may be performed by a partner company, not First Advantage itself.

Fee structure and FDIC-insured client account

  • Fees are charged as a percentage of the debt enrolled, reportedly around 20–25%. (CPI Inflation Calculator)
  • The company claims to hold client funds in an FDIC-insured account, which is a standard practice for legitimate settlement firms.
  • Under FTC rules, debt settlement companies cannot charge upfront fees before settling a debt. (NFCC)

How does First Advantage compare to other debt relief companies?

A side-by-side look at how First Advantage stacks up against two leading competitors reveals notable gaps in transparency and consumer sentiment.

Feature First Advantage National Debt Relief Accredited Debt Relief
BBB Rating N/A (Finder) A+ (Money.com) A+ (Money.com)
Fee Structure 20–25% (reported, opaque) 15–25% (transparent) 15–25% (transparent)
Trustpilot Score No reviews found 4.6 / 5 4.5 / 5
Business Model Lead-generation site (Finder) Direct settlement Direct settlement
Min. Debt Requirement Not specified $7,500 $10,000

The pattern here is clear: leading competitors invest in transparent pricing, verifiable customer reviews, and direct handling of accounts. First Advantage appears to operate at the edge of industry norms, relying on a lead-generation model that creates distance between the consumer and the service provider.

What to look for when comparing debt settlement firms

  • Request detailed written agreements that specify all fees, timelines, and expected credit report impacts before enrolling. (The Credit People)
  • Verify the company’s licensing in your state and check BBB complaint trends — patterns of fee transparency or settlement failure are major red flags. (The Credit People)
  • Look for membership in industry bodies such as the AFCC, and check the CFPB complaints database. (GetOutOfDebt.org)

Upsides

  • Potential to reduce total debt by 30–50%
  • Single monthly payment into an FDIC-insured account
  • Professional negotiation may achieve faster settlements
  • Available to those with no other options (e.g., near bankruptcy)

Downsides

  • High fees (20–25% of enrolled debt)
  • No BBB accreditation and sparse verifiable reviews
  • Lead-generation model creates distance from actual service provider
  • Credit score drops 20–100 points; derogatory marks stay 7 years
  • No guarantee creditors will accept settlement offers
  • Programs take 24–48 months, with a ~40% completion rate

The choice ultimately comes down to whether the potential debt reduction outweighs the elevated risk and lack of direct accountability.

How long does it take to rebuild credit from 500 to 700?

The upshot

Rebuilding credit after debt settlement is a marathon, not a sprint. While you can see meaningful recovery in 12–24 months, the stain of a settlement remains on your report for 7 years, limiting your access to prime interest rates.

Credit score timeline after debt settlement

  • **0–3 months:** Enrollment begins. Missed payments trigger an initial drop of 100–150 points. (The Credit People)
  • **3–6 months:** Negotiations start. Score continues to drop as accounts become delinquent.
  • **12–18 months:** Some debts settled. Score may plateau or begin modest recovery if other accounts remain current.
  • **24–36 months:** Program completion is typical. Score recovery to 600–680 is possible with consistent on-time payments on remaining accounts.
  • **36–48 months:** Full recovery to 700+ is achievable with low credit utilization and no new negative items.

Factors that influence recovery speed

  • The status of your other accounts: keeping a credit card or installment loan current during the program softens the blow. (The Credit People)
  • Scoring model: older FICO versions penalize settled accounts more heavily. Mortgage lenders typically use these older versions.
  • Derogatory marks for settled accounts remain on the credit report for up to seven years from the date of the first missed payment. (NFCC)

Steps to rebuild credit while enrolled in a program

  • Make all non-enrolled payments on time. Payment history is the biggest factor in your score.
  • Keep credit utilization below 30% on any credit cards you retain.
  • Consider a secured credit card to build positive history during the program.
  • Monitor your credit reports regularly to ensure settled accounts are marked correctly.
Bottom line: Reaching a 700 score from a 500 starting point typically takes 24–36 months after program completion. The key is consistent on-time payments on remaining accounts and low credit utilization. The 7-year reporting period for settled accounts means the damage is not temporary — it has a long tail.

The consequence for borrowers: long-term financial goals like buying a home may be delayed significantly.

Debt settlement timeline with First Advantage

0–3 months

Enrollment; first missed payments trigger credit score drop of 100–150 points. Interest and late fees continue to accrue.

3–6 months

Settlement negotiations begin; score continues to drop without payments. No guarantee of creditor acceptance.

12–18 months

Some debts settled; score may plateau or begin recovery if other accounts remain current.

24–36 months

Program completion typical; score recovery to 600–680 possible with on-time payments.

36–48 months

Full recovery to 700+ possible if credit utilization low and no new negative marks appear. Derogatory items remain until year 7.

Clarity: What we know vs. what remains unclear

Confirmed facts

  • Debt relief programs can reduce total debt by 30–50% before fees (FTC via NFCC).
  • Credit score will drop 20–100 points during the initial phase of a settlement program (The Credit People).
  • First Advantage is a registered for-profit debt settlement company and holds an FDIC-insured client account (GetOutOfDebt.org).
  • Finder reports that First Advantage is not BBB accredited and has no BBB customer reviews (Finder).
  • Settled accounts can remain on credit reports for up to seven years (NFCC).

What’s unclear

  • Whether First Advantage consistently achieves the promised settlements for its clients.
  • Exact fee breakdown — the company does not publish a standard fee schedule.
  • Actual program completion rate — the company does not disclose this metric.
  • How consumer data is shared and sold to partner debt relief providers.
  • Whether the positive ratings claimed by some sources are tied to the correct First Advantage business entity.

These gaps underscore the importance of independent verification before committing to a program.

Voices from the ground: Reviews and expert warnings

“This is a dreadfully incompetent company. I have had to undertake checks as a condition of my employment.”

— Trustpilot reviewer, cited by Finder

“Firstsource Advantage has offered to settle my Wells Fargo credit card debt, for less than half of what I owe. It seems like a great offer, but I am worried about the impact on my credit.”

— Reddit user, r/DebtAdvice

“Be wary of debt relief companies that charge fees before they settle your debts.”

— FTC consumer advice (via NFCC)

“The worst thing about First Advantage is its complete lack of honesty. It pretends to be a debt relief provider, but it’s not.”

— Finder.com review

First Advantage Debt Relief presents itself as a bridge out of debt, but the evidence suggests it functions more as a lead-generation funnel than a direct settlement service. Consumers seeking clear pricing, a verifiable track record, and direct handling of their accounts are better served by competitors like National Debt Relief or a non-profit credit counseling agency. For the consumer carrying $10,000 or more in unsecured debt, the choice is clear: proceed with extreme caution, or redirect your energy to a provider with proven results.

Frequently asked questions

Does First Advantage charge upfront fees?

Under FTC rules, debt settlement companies cannot charge fees before they settle a debt. First Advantage reportedly charges a percentage of the debt enrolled (20–25%), but this is typically deducted from the settlement funds, not charged upfront.

Can I negotiate with creditors myself instead of using a program?

Yes, you can negotiate directly with creditors. Many creditors have hardship programs. The advantage of a settlement company is professional negotiation, but the fees (15–25%) are high.

Will debt relief stop collection calls and lawsuits?

Not automatically. Enrolling in a program may slow calls, but creditors and collectors can still pursue legal action until a settlement is formally accepted. There is no legal protection from lawsuits in a debt settlement program.

What happens if I miss a payment during the program?

Missing payments is part of the settlement strategy, but it damages your credit score (100–150 point initial drop) and can lead to collection calls. If you stop the program, you may owe more than when you started due to accrued interest and fees.

How long does a debt settlement stay on my credit report?

Delinquencies and settled accounts can remain on your credit report for up to seven years from the date of the first missed payment.

Is First Advantage the same company as First Advantage Corporation (background checks)?

No. First Advantage Debt Relief is a separate entity and is not affiliated with First Advantage Corporation, which provides employment background screening services.

Do I have to pay taxes on forgiven debt?

Yes, generally. Forgiven debt over $600 is considered taxable income by the IRS, though there are exceptions if you are insolvent or bankrupt. You will receive a 1099-C form from the creditor.

What is the average success rate of debt settlement programs?

Industry data suggests that only about 40% of clients complete their debt settlement programs. This means the majority do not see the full benefit and may end up worse off.