If you have less-than-perfect credit, a new credit card offer can feel both hopeful and risky. The Fortiva credit card lands in that space: an unsecured Mastercard that doesn’t ask for a security deposit but comes with fees that can add up fast. This review walks through the actual costs, the application process, and whether this card makes sense for your credit-building goals.
Card Network: Mastercard ·
Mobile App: Available for iOS and Android via Fortiva Account Center ·
Accepted Locations: Anywhere Mastercard is accepted
Quick snapshot
- Unsecured Mastercard, no deposit required (Firstcard (fintech media))
- First-year annual fee: $49–$175 (NerdWallet (personal finance site))
- Account maintenance fee: $60–$180 annually after first year (NerdWallet)
- Exact APR range — sources vary between 22.74% and 36% (NerdWallet, Firstcard)
- Minimum credit score for approval not publicly stated (NerdWallet)
- Credit limit ranges not officially disclosed beyond “up to $1,000” (MyFortiva apply page)
- Fee structures have shifted: a 2022 cardholder agreement showed lower annual fee tiers ($25–$49) (MyFortiva cardholder agreement (Jan 2022))
- Current offers (2026) show higher fees, with first-year costs potentially over $350 (NerdWallet)
- Expect continued regulatory focus on subprime card fees (CFPB (consumer protection bureau))
- Possible pressure to disclose clearer APR and limit ranges (CFPB (consumer protection bureau))
Six key facts about the Fortiva credit card, drawn from issuer documents and editorial analysis.
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Card Type | Unsecured revolving Mastercard |
| Issuer | Atlanticus (Fortiva Financial) |
| Network | Mastercard |
| Mobile App | Fortiva Account Center |
| Credit Protection | Optional |
| Approval Difficulty | Low (designed for bad credit) |
The implication: Fortiva’s key specs confirm its niche as an unsecured subprime product with broad network acceptance.
Is the Fortiva credit card a good card?
How does Fortiva compare to other cards for bad credit?
- Fortiva is a subprime card targeting consumers with limited or poor credit history (GOBankingRates (personal finance site)).
- Unlike secured cards, no security deposit is required (Credit Building podcast (personal finance)).
- It operates on the Mastercard network, accepted globally (Mastercard (payment network)).
The pattern: Fortiva removes the deposit barrier but compensates with a fee-heavy structure.
Who should consider the Fortiva credit card?
- Consumers with poor credit who cannot get approved for mainstream cards.
- Those who can manage high upfront fees and want an unsecured card to rebuild credit.
- Not suitable for anyone with good credit or who wants a rewards card.
What type of credit card is Fortiva?
Is Fortiva a secured or unsecured card?
- Fortiva is an unsecured revolving credit card — no deposit needed (MyFortiva pre-approved page).
- Issuer: Atlanticus, also known as Fortiva Financial (Google Play – Fortiva Account Center app (package com.atlanticus.fortivaols)).
What network does Fortiva use?
- It’s a Mastercard, so it’s accepted worldwide at any Mastercard merchant (NerdWallet).
- The card also has retail partners, such as Dell, where it can be used as a store card (Dell (retail partner page)).
The catch: Unsecured means lower upfront cash, but the high fees and interest rates effectively front-load the cost of credit.
Unsecured means lower upfront cash, but the high fees and interest rates effectively front-load the cost of credit. For consumers with severely damaged credit, the trade-off might be worth it in the short term.
What bank is behind the Fortiva credit card?
Who issues the Fortiva credit card?
- Fortiva is a brand of Atlanticus, a financial services company specializing in credit for underserved consumers (Google Play – app package identity).
- Some sources also name The Bank of Missouri as the issuing bank, but the most recent agreements point to Atlanticus as the direct issuer.
Is Fortiva a bank or a card issuer?
- Fortiva is not a bank; it’s a brand owned by Atlanticus Holdings, which partners with banks to issue credit products.
- Atlanticus also operates other subprime card brands, placing Fortiva in a larger ecosystem of high-fee credit products.
The pattern: Understanding that Atlanticus is the issuer helps consumers evaluate the card’s corporate backing and fee structure.
What is the credit limit on the Fortiva credit card?
What is the Fortiva starting credit limit?
- Fortiva’s prequalification page advertises up to $1,000 for those with less-than-perfect credit (MyFortiva apply page).
- Actual limits vary by creditworthiness, and third-party sources indicate typical starting limits between $300 and $1,000 (GOBankingRates).
Can I get a higher limit later?
- Cardholders may request a credit limit increase after making on-time payments for several months, according to common industry practice.
- Some reports suggest limits can reach up to $3,000 for consistent payers, but Fortiva does not publicly document this policy.
The implication: Low starting limits mean the card’s fees take a larger percentage bite out of available credit.
What are the pros and cons of Fortiva?
Upsides
- Unsecured card, no security deposit required.
- Accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted.
- Mobile app for account management (Fortiva Account Center) (Apple App Store (Fortiva Account Center)).
- Optional credit protection program covers minimum payments for up to six months (NerdWallet).
Downsides
- High annual fee: $49–$175 first year, then $0–$49 (NerdWallet).
- Account maintenance fee: $60–$180 annually after first year (NerdWallet).
- High APR: 22.74%–36% (Firstcard).
- No rewards program or sign-up bonus.
- Low starting credit limits.
- Foreign transaction fee: 3% (GOBankingRates).
- Customer service complaints: 1-star rating on Yelp (GOBankingRates citing Yelp).
The catch: The downsides list outweighs the upsides, particularly for consumers who can qualify for alternatives.
Seven fee categories that together define the true cost of the Fortiva card.
| Fee Type | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| First-year annual fee | $49–$175 | NerdWallet |
| Annual fee after first year | $0–$49 | NerdWallet |
| Account maintenance fee (annual, billed monthly) | $60–$180 | NerdWallet |
| Purchase APR | 22.74%–36% | NerdWallet |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% | GOBankingRates |
| Late payment fee (most US jurisdictions) | Up to $41 | MyFortiva cardholder agreement (Jan 2022) |
| Authorized user fee (one-time) | $19 | MyFortiva cardholder agreement (Jan 2022) |
| Balance transfer fee (after first year) | 3% | MyFortiva legal (pricing table) |
| Cash advance fee | Greater of $10 or 5% | MyFortiva legal |
The pattern: The cumulative fee structure means cardholders face multiple cost layers beyond just the APR.
How to apply for the Fortiva credit card
Step-by-step application process
- Visit the official prequalification page at apply.myfortiva.com (MyFortiva apply page).
- Complete the soft-inquiry prequalification form to see potential terms without affecting your credit score (MyFortiva pre-approved).
- If you decide to proceed, submit a full application which may involve a hard credit pull.
- Upon approval, you’ll receive the physical card and can activate it through the Fortiva Account Center app.
How to make payments
- Pay online via the Fortiva Account Center portal or mobile app.
- Payment phone number is available on the back of your card or inside the app (not publicly listed to avoid spam).
- You can also mail payments to the address indicated on your statement.
The catch: The prequalification uses a soft inquiry, but the final application triggers a hard credit check.
The prequalification step is indeed a soft inquiry, but the final application triggers a hard credit check. Ensure you are comfortable with your prequalified offer before proceeding.
Confirmed facts vs. what’s unclear
Confirmed facts
- Fortiva is a Mastercard.
- Mobile app available for iOS and Android.
- Optional credit protection program exists.
- Accepted at any Mastercard merchant.
- Issuer is Atlanticus (based on app package name).
What’s unclear
- Exact annual fee and APR amounts for your specific offer.
- Specific credit limit ranges publicly disclosed.
- Minimum credit score required.
- Upgrade path or rewards program existence.
The implication: The gaps in public information make it difficult for consumers to fully compare Fortiva with alternatives before applying.
Expert perspectives on the Fortiva card
“The Fortiva Credit Card offers an optional credit protection program that covers the minimum payment owed, up to six months, if you become …”
NerdWallet (personal finance editorial site)
“The flexible card for everyday purchases. … Fortiva® Mastercard anywhere Mastercard is accepted.”
MyFortiva (official card issuer site)
“Fortiva is legitimate but expensive … the card is not a scam but fees and APRs are unusually high.”
Firstcard (fintech media)
“Fortiva’s combination of annual fee, maintenance fee, foreign transaction fee, and penalty fees can add up to several hundred dollars in the first year.”
GOBankingRates (personal finance site)
Editor’s note: The quotes above represent a range of editorial and consumer perspectives. Fortiva’s own site touts a 4.7 out of 5 satisfaction score based on 16,000 internal reviews (GOBankingRates), but external review platforms show far lower ratings — a gap that readers should weigh carefully.
Summary: Should you get the Fortiva credit card?
The Fortiva credit card delivers on its promise: an unsecured Mastercard for people with bad credit who can’t get a standard card. But the price is steep — first-year fees can top $350 and the APR can reach 36%. For someone with no other unsecured option, it may be a reasonable bridge to better credit. But the card’s high costs and lack of a clear upgrade path mean it’s best used as a short-term tool, not a long-term solution. A consumer in the U.S. with poor credit who wants to rebuild faces a clear choice: accept the high fees for the convenience of an unsecured card, or choose a secured card with lower ongoing costs and a clearer path to a better product.
Frequently asked questions
How do I apply for the Fortiva credit card?
Apply online via the official prequalification page at apply.myfortiva.com. The process starts with a soft inquiry to check your potential terms, then you can submit a full application.
What is the Fortiva payment phone number?
The payment phone number is not publicly listed to prevent spam. You can find it on the back of your credit card or by logging into the Fortiva Account Center app.
Is there a Fortiva mobile app?
Yes, the Fortiva Account Center app is available for both iOS and Android. It allows you to manage your credit card, personal loan, and retail credit accounts.
How do I increase my Fortiva credit limit?
You can request a credit limit increase after making on-time payments for several months. Fortiva does not publicly guarantee specific limit increases, but consistent payment behavior may help.
What credit score do I need for Fortiva?
Fortiva targets consumers with poor or bad credit. The exact minimum credit score is not disclosed, but the card is designed for those with limited or subprime credit history.
Does Fortiva have an annual fee?
Yes. The annual fee ranges from $49 to $175 in the first year, then drops to $0–$49 in subsequent years depending on your terms. There is also an account maintenance fee of $60–$180 annually after the first year.
Can I use Fortiva outside the US?
Yes, Fortiva is a Mastercard, so it is accepted worldwide wherever Mastercard is accepted. However, a 3% foreign transaction fee applies to purchases made outside the United States.
How do I check my Fortiva card balance?
Log into the Fortiva Account Center online or through the mobile app to view your current balance, recent transactions, and payment due date.

