Getting 3% cash back on every purchase without tracking categories sounds almost too good to be true — and for Robinhood Gold Card holders, it comes with a catch. This Visa Signature card, issued by Coastal Community Bank, promises uncapped 3% rewards on all spending, but only if you’re already paying $50 a year for Robinhood Gold.

Cash back rate: 3% on all purchases ·
Annual fee: $0 ·
Required membership: Robinhood Gold ($50/year) ·
Card material: Stainless steel (17g) ·
Availability: Exclusive to Gold members

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • Exact credit score cutoff (reported 670+, not confirmed) (NerdWallet)
  • Foreign transaction fee policy (no fee per Investopedia)
  • Waitlist duration varies widely (Investopedia)
  • Maximum credit limit not disclosed (NerdWallet)
3Timeline signal
  • ~300,000 cards issued by August 2025 (NerdWallet)
  • Originally invite-only, now broader rollout (NerdWallet)
  • 18-month wait reported by some early applicants (Investopedia)
4What’s next
  • Platinum Card launched at $695/year with 5–10% rewards (Robinhood Platinum page)
  • Broader public access expected as waitlist shrinks (Robinhood Platinum page)

The pattern: Robinhood uses the Gold Card as a gatekeeper — the high rewards are locked behind a paid membership, unlike no-fee competitors that offer 2% flat cash back without any subscription.

Label Value
Issuer Coastal Community Bank (NerdWallet)
Network Visa (NerdWallet)
Cash back rate 3% unlimited (Robinhood product page)
Annual fee $0 (Robinhood Support)
Membership fee $50/year (Robinhood product page)
Sign-up bonus None (Upgraded Points)
Credit score needed 670–850 (NerdWallet)
The catch

The headline 3% rate only applies when rewards are redeemed into a Robinhood brokerage account or through Robinhood’s travel portal. Statement credits are worth less than $0.01 per point, effectively dropping the return to about 2.1% — Upgraded Points calls this a marketing gap that misleads consumers expecting simple cash back.

Is Robinhood Credit Card a real credit card?

What is the Robinhood Gold Card?

  • A Visa Signature credit card issued by Coastal Community Bank, member FDIC (NerdWallet credit card comparison site)
  • Earns three points per dollar on eligible purchases — equivalent to 3% cash back — with an active annual Robinhood Gold subscription (Robinhood product page)
  • No rotating categories or spending caps on the base earn rate (Upgraded Points travel rewards analysis)
  • Cardholders earn 5% back on travel booked through Robinhood’s own travel portal (Upgraded Points)

Who issues the Robinhood Gold Card?

  • Coastal Community Bank, a federally insured institution, issues the card on the Visa network (NerdWallet)
  • Approval is subject to a standard credit review, including full name, Social Security number, date of birth, and estimated annual income (Robinhood Support – Apply for Robinhood Credit Card)
  • The card sits on the Visa Signature tier, which unlocks travel and purchase protections like trip interruption reimbursement and rental car collision damage waiver (NerdWallet)

What this means: The Robinhood Gold Card is a real, federally issued Visa credit card — not a prepaid or debit product. But its most distinctive feature, the 3% rate, is gated behind a paid subscription that most competitor cards don’t require.

Is Robinhood Credit Card still available?

How to get on the waitlist

  • Open the Robinhood app, navigate to the Gold Card section, and join the waitlist if prompted (Robinhood Support)
  • You must have an active Robinhood Gold subscription before or at the time of application (Robinhood product page)
  • Robinhood will send an email invitation when your spot opens — there is no way to skip the queue (NerdWallet)

Current enrollment status

  • As of August 2025, roughly 300,000 Gold Cards are in consumers’ hands, up from about 100,000 in March 2025 (NerdWallet)
  • The card is no longer strictly invite-only, but the waitlist can still delay access (NerdWallet)
  • One early applicant reported waiting roughly 18 months from joining the waitlist in spring 2024 to receiving an invite (Investopedia financial education publisher)

The pattern: The card is real and growing in circulation, but availability remains constrained. If you’re not already a Gold member, the wait may test your patience — and your willingness to pay $50 upfront before you even apply.

Is there a credit card for Robinhood?

Robinhood Gold Card vs Robinhood Platinum Card

Two product tiers, one big difference in cost and rewards:

  • Robinhood Gold Card: 3% cash back on all purchases, $0 annual fee on the card, requires $50/year Gold membership (Robinhood product page)
  • Robinhood Platinum Card: 5% back on dining, 5% on flights, 10% on hotels and car rentals, plus 1% on other purchases, $695 annual fee, includes complimentary Gold membership (Robinhood Platinum Card page)
  • Both cards are metal: the Gold Card is stainless steel weighing about 17 grams; the Platinum card is marketed as 99.9% pure platinum (NerdWallet)

The trade-off: The Platinum card offers higher rewards in specific categories but costs $695 a year. The Gold card is effectively a $50 card when you factor in the mandatory subscription — cheap for a 3% flat-rate card, but not free.

Is a Robinhood Credit Card hard to get?

Credit score requirements

  • Robinhood does not publish a minimum credit score, but third-party analysis suggests good to excellent credit is expected — typically 670 or higher (NerdWallet)
  • Investopedia’s cardholder review notes the author had a high score but still waited 18 months, suggesting that credit alone doesn’t guarantee fast access (Investopedia)

Approval odds

  • Beyond credit score, Robinhood evaluates your Gold membership status and overall relationship with the platform (Robinhood Support)
  • Applicants must be U.S. residents with a valid Social Security number (Robinhood product page)

Why this matters: The hardest part isn’t the credit check — it’s the waitlist. Good credit gets you in the queue, but only patience (and an active Gold subscription) gets you the card.

Can anyone get a Robinhood credit card?

Who is eligible?

  • Must be a U.S.-based Robinhood customer with an active paid Robinhood Gold subscription at $5/month or $50/year (Robinhood product page)
  • Must provide a Social Security number, date of birth, residential address, phone number, and estimated annual income (Robinhood Support)
  • Approval is subject to a credit review — not everyone who applies will be approved (Robinhood Support)

US residency requirement

  • Robinhood markets the Gold Card exclusively to U.S. customers, and there is no indication the card is available in other regions as of 2025 (Robinhood product page)
  • Non-U.S. residents, even those with Robinhood accounts, cannot apply (Robinhood product page)

The implication: The card is not open to everyone — even within the U.S., you need both a paid subscription and credit approval. For international readers, it’s simply not an option.

What are the downsides of the Robinhood card?

Annual fee for Gold

  • The card itself has a $0 annual fee, but you must pay $50/year for Robinhood Gold to qualify (Robinhood Support)
  • Fintech analyst Lex Substack argues this effectively makes the Gold Card a $50-annual-fee card, especially for users who only want the card benefit

Rewards caps?

  • No cap on the base 3% earn rate, but the effective return drops to roughly 2.1% if you redeem for statement credits instead of depositing into a Robinhood brokerage account (Upgraded Points)
  • To get the full 3% value, you must redeem through the Robinhood ecosystem — brokerage deposits, travel bookings, gift cards, or portal purchases (NerdWallet)

Customer service complaints

  • Robinhood is not a traditional bank; customer support is app-based and less extensive than major issuers like Chase or Citi (Hacker News discussion)
  • Some users on Reddit report delayed responses and limited dispute resolution options compared to legacy card issuers

The catch: The 3% rate is real, but it’s optimized for users who keep their money inside Robinhood’s ecosystem. If you want simple cash back deposited to a bank account, you’ll lose about a third of the advertised value.

The math

Investopedia calculates that a user switching from a 2% cash-back card needs to spend at least $5,000 annually on the Gold Card just to recover the $50 Gold subscription cost — before earning any extra rewards. Below that threshold, a no-fee 2% card like Citi Double Cash gives you more money in pocket.

What happens when you have $25,000 in Robinhood?

Robinhood Gold benefits at $25k

  • Having $25,000 in your Robinhood brokerage account qualifies you for Robinhood Gold membership (if not already enrolled) (Robinhood product page)
  • Gold membership unlocks access to the 3% cash back credit card, making the $25k threshold a shortcut to eligibility (Robinhood product page)

Interest rate on cash

  • Gold members earn 5% APY on uninvested cash in their Robinhood brokerage account, far above the national average savings rate (Upgraded Points)
  • This interest income can partially offset the $50 annual Gold fee, making the card more attractive for users who already hold cash at Robinhood

The pattern: The $25k threshold acts as a VIP gate: hit it and you get Gold membership essentially for free, plus card eligibility and boosted interest. It’s a designed incentive to keep assets on the platform.

The two card tiers offer starkly different value propositions depending on spending habits.

Specification Robinhood Gold Card Robinhood Platinum Card
Annual fee (card) $0 $695
Required membership $50/year Gold Complimentary Gold included
Base rewards 3% all purchases 1% all purchases
Dining rewards 3% (same as base) 5%
Flights 3% (or 5% via portal) 5% (or 10% via portal)
Hotels & car rentals 3% (or 5% via portal) 10%
Foreign transaction fee 0% 0% (unconfirmed)
Card material Stainless steel (17g) 99.9% pure platinum
Sign-up bonus None None confirmed
Issuer Coastal Community Bank Likely same issuer
Bottom line: What this means: The Gold Card is the value play for everyday spending; the Platinum card is for high spenders in travel categories. Most users will find the Gold Card’s flat 3% rate simpler and cheaper — provided they’re willing to park rewards in a brokerage account.

Upsides

  • 3% uncapped cash back on all purchases — no categories, no limits (Robinhood)
  • $0 annual fee on the card itself (Robinhood Support)
  • No foreign transaction fees — strong for international travel (Investopedia)
  • Visa Signature benefits including trip interruption coverage up to $2,000 per person (Upgraded Points)
  • Metal card construction — premium feel at a low effective cost (NerdWallet)
  • Up to five authorized users, each with their own virtual card numbers (Lex Substack fintech analysis)

Downsides

  • Requires $50/year Robinhood Gold membership — not truly a no-fee card (Robinhood)
  • Full 3% value only applies with brokerage account redemptions — statement credits earn less (Upgraded Points)
  • No sign-up bonus — many competitors offer $200+ cash back for new cardholders (Upgraded Points)
  • Waitlist can delay access by months or over a year (Investopedia)
  • Customer support is app-based, less robust than traditional bank issuers (Hacker News)
  • Rewards ecosystem lock-in encourages keeping assets at Robinhood (Hacker News)

Confirmed facts vs what remains unclear

Confirmed facts

  • Robinhood Gold Card offers 3% cash back on all categories, no caps (Robinhood product page)
  • Card has no annual fee but requires active Robinhood Gold membership at $50/year (Robinhood Support)
  • Card is issued by Coastal Community Bank on the Visa network (NerdWallet)
  • No foreign transaction fees on international purchases (Investopedia)
  • Stainless steel construction, approximately 17 grams (NerdWallet)
  • ~300,000 cards in circulation by August 2025 (NerdWallet)

What’s unclear

  • Exact credit score cutoff — 670+ is an estimate, not a published threshold (NerdWallet)
  • Waitlist duration — 18 months for some, but current average is not disclosed (Investopedia)
  • Maximum credit limit — not published by Robinhood
  • Whether the Platinum card is generally accessible or still invite-only (Robinhood Platinum page)

“Earn 3% cash back on all categories. It’s the only credit card you’ll need, and it’s exclusively for Robinhood Gold members.”

— Robinhood official website (Robinhood) For those seeking a travel-focused card, consider exploring the Best travel credit card Singapore.

“I recently got off the waitlist and had the Robinhood Gold Card for about a month and a half. While I like it in theory, the redemption friction is real — you have to move money into your brokerage to get the full 3%.”

— Reddit user, r/CreditCards

“The $50 annual Gold subscription effectively acts as the card’s annual fee, making the product similar in cost to a $50-fee card that pays 3% back.”

— Lex Substack fintech analysis

“Calling it a ‘no fee’ card is misleading, since you must pay for a Robinhood Gold subscription to qualify.”

— Hacker News discussion (Hacker News)

The Robinhood Gold Card delivers on its headline 3% promise — but only for users willing to play inside Robinhood’s ecosystem. For the everyday spender who wants simple cash back deposited to a bank account, the effective rate drops closer to 2.1%, making a no-fee 2% card like Citi Double Cash the smarter choice. For the Robinhood power user who already holds $25k in the platform, the card is a legitimate upgrade. For the U.S. consumer on the fence, the waiting list, the $50 subscription, and the redemption friction mean the math only works if you spend at least $5,000 a year on the card.

Frequently asked questions

What credit score is needed for the Robinhood Gold Card?

Robinhood does not publish a minimum score, but third-party analysis from NerdWallet suggests good to excellent credit (670+) is typically required.

How does the Robinhood Gold Card compare to the Apple Card?

The Apple Card offers 2% cash back on Apple Pay purchases and 3% at Apple merchants, with no fee and no subscription required. The Robinhood Gold Card offers 3% on all purchases but requires a $50/year Gold membership. For heavy Apple Pay users, the Apple Card may deliver better effective returns without the subscription cost.

Does the Robinhood Gold Card have a sign-up bonus?

No, the Robinhood Gold Card does not currently offer a sign-up bonus, as confirmed by Upgraded Points.

What is the Robinhood Platinum Card?

The Platinum Card is a higher-tier product with a $695 annual fee offering 5% on dining and flights, and 10% on hotels and car rentals. It includes complimentary Gold membership. See Robinhood Platinum Card page for details.

Can I use the Robinhood Gold Card abroad?

Yes, and notably the card charges no foreign transaction fees, making it competitive for international spending according to Investopedia.

How do I check my application status for the Robinhood Gold Card?

Application status can be checked directly in the Robinhood app under the Gold Card section. Robinhood will also send email updates when your spot opens, as noted in Robinhood Support.