Anyone who has shopped for a personal loan online has probably landed on SoFi’s page and wondered if the rates are as good as they look. This review walks through the real numbers—APR ranges, fee structures, and approval requirements—so you can decide whether SoFi’s zero-fee promise holds up for your situation.
APR range: 6.99% – 35.49% (with autopay discount) · Loan amount range: $5,000 – $100,000 · Minimum credit score: 680 (fair or better) · Funding speed: as fast as same day after approval · Fees: no origination, prepayment, or late fees · NerdWallet rating: Best Personal Loan for Excellent Credit, 2026
Quick snapshot
- No origination, prepayment, or late fees (LendingTree loan marketplace)
- APRs from 6.99% to 35.49% with discounts (NerdWallet consumer finance publisher)
- Same day funding available for eligible applicants (NerdWallet)
- Exact approval rates for credit scores 680–700 (LendEDU personal finance site)
- Specific same day funding eligibility criteria not disclosed (SoFi official lender)
- Founded 2011; publicly traded 2021 (NerdWallet)
- Same day funding speed a key differentiator in 2026 (NerdWallet)
- After preapproval, formal application triggers a hard credit pull (SoFi soft prequalification page)
- Funds can arrive same day if terms accepted early enough (NerdWallet)
| Attribute | Value |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2011 |
| Headquarters | San Francisco, California |
| Regulation | Licensed lender in all 50 states |
| Better Business Bureau Rating | A+ |
| Trustpilot Score | 4.5 out of 5 stars (as of 2025) |
Is SoFi a Good Bank for Personal Loans?
SoFi is not a traditional bank with branches—it’s an online lender founded in 2011 and publicly traded on NASDAQ since 2021 (NerdWallet consumer finance publisher). But its personal loan product has earned a reputation for clean terms and competitive rates.
- No origination, prepayment, or late fees—a rare combination in the lending market (LendingTree loan marketplace).
- NerdWallet named SoFi “Best Personal Loan for Excellent Credit” in its 2026 awards (NerdWallet).
- Fixed APRs range from 6.99% to 35.49% when autopay and member discounts are applied, according to Credible’s SoFi disclosure (loan marketplace).
SoFi’s zero-fee structure gives it an edge over lenders that pack on origination charges. For a borrower taking $20,000 over five years, skipping a 5% origination fee saves $1,000 upfront.
The implication: SoFi is a strong fit for borrowers with good credit who value predictability and dislike hidden costs. The trade-off is that approval requires a higher credit floor than some competitors.
Does SoFi Grant Personal Loans?
Yes—SoFi offers personal loans for debt consolidation, home improvement, major purchases, and medical expenses (SoFi official lender). Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $100,000 with repayment terms of 2 to 7 years (Credible loan marketplace comparison).
SoFi also promotes same day funding for eligible applicants who accept terms early enough (NerdWallet). The company reports that the average loan size is around $35,000 (SoFi FAQ video official YouTube).
State restrictions apply. Some states—like Arizona and Kentucky—require higher minimum loan amounts ($10,001 and $15,001 respectively) due to local laws (myFICO Forums community discussion). SoFi’s eligibility page confirms these variations but does not publish a full state-by-state schedule (SoFi – Eligibility Criteria).
The pattern: If you live in a state with a higher minimum, you cannot borrow less than that floor—plan accordingly.
How Hard Is It to Get Approved for a SoFi Personal Loan?
SoFi targets borrowers with at least “good” credit. While the company does not publish a formal minimum FICO score, editorial reviews consistently cite a threshold around 660–680 (LendEDU personal finance site). Borrowers with FICO scores above 670 reportedly see APRs in the low to mid-teens (Credible loan marketplace review).
What credit score do you need for a SoFi personal loan?
- De facto minimum around 680, but higher scores improve approval odds and rates (LendEDU).
- SoFi also considers debt-to-income ratio, income stability, and credit history (Credible).
- Prequalification uses a soft credit pull that does not affect your score (SoFi soft check explanation).
What are the income requirements for a SoFi personal loan?
SoFi does not disclose a specific minimum income publicly. The lender evaluates your ability to repay based on verifiable income and existing debts (Credible).
What this means: SoFi’s underwriting leans conservative. Borrowers with borderline credit may still get approved, but the best rates go to those with scores in the mid-700s.
How Much Does a $5,000 Personal Loan Cost Monthly with SoFi?
Using SoFi’s typical rates, here are real-world estimates:
- $5,000 at 12% APR for 3 years: approximately $166 per month (total interest ~$976).
- $20,000 at 10% APR for 5 years: approximately $425 per month (total interest ~$5,496).
These examples assume good credit; actual rates depend on your profile and the optional origination fee choice (0% to 7%) (Credible optional fee range 0–7%).
Is SoFi Loan Fake or Real?
SoFi is a legitimate online lender founded in 2011 and publicly traded on NASDAQ since 2021. The company is regulated and compliant with state lending laws (NerdWallet). Trustpilot rates SoFi 4.5 out of 5 stars, and Reddit threads confirm real borrower experiences with debt consolidation and personal loan funding. The catch: SoFi’s legitimacy is well-established, but its strict credit requirements mean not every applicant will qualify.
SoFi Personal Loan Requirements and Application Process
To apply, you must be a US citizen or permanent resident, at least 18 years old, with a credit score around 680 or higher and verifiable income (SoFi – Eligibility Criteria).
How to apply for a SoFi personal loan
- Prequalify online – Submit basic information for a soft credit check; see estimated rates without affecting your score (SoFi).
- Complete the formal application – Provide personal details, income, and employment info. SoFi will perform a hard credit pull.
- Accept terms and verify – Review the loan offer, choose optional origination fee (if any), and sign electronically.
- Funds disbursed – Eligible applicants may receive funds the same day; otherwise within 1–3 business days (NerdWallet).
SoFi personal loan phone number and customer support
Customer support is available at (844) 900-7634, Monday through Friday. Online chat and email are also options.
The trade-off: SoFi’s application is fully digital—no option to apply in person. For tech-savvy borrowers this is a plus; others may miss the personal touch.
SoFi Personal Loan Specifications
Four key specifications define SoFi’s personal loan product compared to other prime lenders.
| Specification | Detail |
|---|---|
| APR range (with discounts) | 6.99% – 35.49% fixed (Credible disclosure) |
| Consumer-facing APR range | 8.99% – 35.99% (YouTube review) |
| Autopay discount | 0.25 percentage point (Credible disclosure) |
| Member rate discount | 0.25 percentage point (Credible review) |
| Debt consolidation direct-pay discount | 0.25 percentage point (Credible review) |
| Loan amount range | $5,000 – $100,000 (SoFi) |
| Repayment terms | 2 to 7 years (Credible comparison) |
| Origination fee | 0% (optional up to 7%) (NerdWallet) |
| Late fee | $0 (LendingTree) |
| Prepayment penalty | $0 |
| Funding speed | Same day for eligible borrowers (NerdWallet) |
| Credit check (prequal) | Soft pull; hard pull on formal application (SoFi) |
The pattern: SoFi leads on fee transparency but requires a higher credit baseline to access the best rates.
Pros and Cons of SoFi Personal Loans
Upsides
- No late fees, prepayment penalties, or mandatory origination fees
- Same day funding available
- High maximum loan amount ($100,000)
- Multiple rate discounts (autopay, member, direct pay)
- Prequalification with soft credit check
- Strong customer reviews (4.5 stars on Trustpilot as of 2025)
Downsides
- myFICO Forums community discussion)
- Credit score requirement around 680 excludes fair-credit borrowers
- No joint applications allowed
- Limited physical customer service (online-only)
How to Apply for a SoFi Personal Loan – Step by Step
- Check your rate – Visit SoFi’s website and complete the prequalification form to see personalized rates without a hard credit pull.
- Compare loan offers – Review the APR, term options, and whether you want to choose an optional origination fee for a lower rate.
- Submit documentation – Upload proof of income (pay stubs, tax returns) and identification.
- Accept the loan – Electronically sign the agreement. Funds can be deposited as soon as the same day if all conditions are met (NerdWallet).
- Manage payments – Set up autopay to earn the 0.25% rate discount and never miss a due date.
What We Know and What’s Still Unclear
Confirmed facts
- SoFi charges no late fees, no prepayment penalties, and no mandatory origination fees (LendingTree)
- Loan amounts up to $100,000 and terms from 2 to 7 years (Credible)
- Prequalification uses a soft credit pull (SoFi)
- Autopay, member, and direct-pay discounts each reduce APR by 0.25% (Credible disclosure)
What’s unclear
- Exact approval rate for borrowers with credit scores between 680 and 700 is not publicly disclosed (LendEDU)
- Specific conditions for same day funding are not detailed by SoFi (NerdWallet)
- State-specific minimum loan amounts vary but SoFi does not publish a complete list (SoFi)
What Borrowers Say: Reddit and Expert Reviews
“Used a SoFi personal loan to consolidate $18,000 in credit card debt. Dropped my APR from 22% to 11%. The whole process took two days.” — Reddit user, r/debtfree
“SoFi is best for borrowers with excellent credit who want a large loan with no fees. The lack of late fees is a standout.” — WSJ Buyside review analyst
“SoFi offers competitive rates and a seamless online experience, but approval is tougher than some alternatives.” — Credible review (loan marketplace)
For borrowers with good credit and a clear repayment plan, SoFi’s combination of zero fees and fast funding makes it a strong contender. The takeaway: if your score is above 680 and you want a fee-free loan with same day speed, SoFi is a top pick. If your credit is lower or you need a smaller amount, you may want to compare alternatives like Upstart or LightStream.
For investors interested in the company behind these loans, the SoFi Technologies stock analysis provides a detailed look at its market performance and future outlook.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does SoFi allow joint applications for personal loans?
No, SoFi only accepts individual applications. Joint applications are not available for personal loans.
Can I change my due date after getting a SoFi loan?
SoFi does not currently offer the ability to change the payment due date after the loan is funded.
Does SoFi report to all three credit bureaus?
Yes, SoFi reports loan activity to Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion.
What happens if I miss a payment on a SoFi personal loan?
SoFi does not charge a late fee, but missed payments will be reported to credit bureaus and may affect your credit score.
Can I pay off my SoFi loan early without penalty?
Yes, SoFi does not charge any prepayment penalty. You can pay off the loan early at any time.
How long does SoFi take to fund a loan after approval?
If you accept the terms early in the day and meet all conditions, funding can occur the same business day. Otherwise, 1–3 business days is typical.
Does SoFi offer hardship programs for personal loans?
SoFi has a borrower assistance program that may include temporary payment forbearance. Contact customer support to discuss options.

